Register for our free newsletter

Latest News

The Business of… the ICC World Cup

Kipp’s got Cricket Fever, what with the ICC World Cup on and all. We take a look at the workings of arguably the biggest tournament in the world’s second biggest sport.

February 20, 2011 3:45 by

Past Winners

As the first World Cup was held quite recently, in 1975, it shouldn’t be too surprising that the cup has been won by only five countries thus far. The West Indies has won two titles (they won the first two World Cup tournaments in 1975, and 1979). The main South Asian cricket countries have all won the cup once, India in 1983, Pakistan in 1992 and Sri Lanka in 1996. Australia, who first won the cup in 1987, has been on an unbeaten winning streak since 1999, winning the 1999, 2003 and 2007. Will they win the cup this year as well? Or will it be England and South Africa, neither of which have won a World Cup as yet?


Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,


Leave a Comment